Where a Japanese bath accepts covered tattoos, the written rule is almost always 1 or 2 of the facility's own stickers, each between 8×12 cm and 13×19 cm. That is the size of a postcard, give or take. This guide puts 14 facilities' published sticker rules in one table with prices and dates, shows which tattoos realistically fit, and lists the cases where a cover changes nothing.
Every row below links to the facility's own notice or FAQ and shows the date we read it. Rules change; Yunessun's two-sticker rule, for example, dates from 2025-10-01.
Sizes are as written by the facility. "Max" means the sticker's maximum dimensions; the tattoo must fit entirely under the stated number of stickers, and the facility decides whether it does.
| Facility | Area | Policy (stickers, size, price) | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tokyo Toyosu Manyo Club | Tokyo, Koto | Up to 2 designated stickers, max 11×20 cm each; worn throughout the building, not only in the bath; undisclosed tattoos mean immediate removal | Official tattoo page | 2026-09-12 |
| Manyo no Yu Machida | Tokyo, Machida | Up to 2 designated stickers, max 11×20 cm each; same conditions as Toyosu | Official tattoo rules | 2026-09-12 |
| Maenohara Onsen Sayano Yudokoro | Tokyo, Itabashi | Up to 2 designated stickers, 11×20 cm, ¥310 each; notice dated 2024-02-25 | Official notice | 2026-09-12 |
| Spa Jium Japon | Tokyo, Higashikurume | 1 designated sticker, one location only, "one-point" tattoos; size not stated | Official FAQ | 2026-09-12 |
| Ryusenji no Yu Nagoya Moriyama | Aichi, Nagoya | Only 2 designated stickers of 9.5×14 cm, ¥200 each | Official fee page | 2026-09-12 |
| Spa Metsa Sendai (Ryusenji no Yu) | Miyagi, Sendai | Only 2 designated stickers; size and price not on the page | Official price page | 2026-09-12 |
| Spa Alpa, Hotel Emisia Sapporo | Hokkaido, Sapporo | 1 cover of 8×12 cm, ¥300 at the spa front; notice dated 2021-12-06 | Official notice | 2026-09-12 |
| Super Sento Fushimi Chikara no Yu | Kyoto, Fushimi | 1 designated sticker of 13×19 cm, trial; notice dated 2021-01-15 | Official notice | 2026-09-12 |
| Hoshino Onsen Tombo no Yu | Nagano, Karuizawa | Up to 8 designated stickers of 10×8 cm, bought at reception | Official page | 2026-09-12 |
| Hakone Kowakien Yunessun, Mori no Yu | Kanagawa, Hakone | 2 designated paid stickers must fully cover; size not stated; from 2025-10-01 | Official notice | 2026-09-12 |
| Solaniwa Onsen Osaka Bay Tower | Osaka, Minato | Stickers sold at the front in several sizes; must hide every tattoo; no returns; notice dated 2024-10-01 | Official notice | 2026-09-12 |
| Ooedo Onsen Monogatari Premium Atami | Shizuoka, Atami | Designated paid stickers must completely cover; size and count not stated | Official day-trip page | 2026-09-12 |
| Hotel Mori no Kaze Hakone Sengokuhara / Hotel Shiki no Yakata Nasu | Kanagawa / Tochigi | Trial since 2024-07-01: every tattoo hidden with dedicated cover seals or similar; no size or count | Hakone page, Nasu page | 2026-09-12 |
| Ikaho Onsen Yokotekan | Gunma, Shibukawa | Exposed tattoos not accepted; tattoo cover or similar requested; no size | Official FAQ | 2026-09-12 |
Seven of the 14 give a size. Six of those seven are between 8×12 cm and 13×19 cm, and the seventh, Tombo no Yu, uses smaller 10×8 cm stickers but allows eight of them. Where a count is given, it is 1 or 2 everywhere except Karuizawa.
Stickers are rectangles and tattoos are not, so the question is whether the tattoo's bounding box fits under the stated number of stickers with no ink at the edges. Measure the longest and widest extent, including faded outer lines.
A cover sticker only matters at the 21 cover-required facilities in our list and at similar places. In the other two cases it is money and effort spent for nothing.
The practical order is: check whether the facility is tattoo-OK (no sticker needed), then whether it is cover-required (buy theirs, check the size), then whether it refuses (go elsewhere). Our app shows those three states directly; the verified list shows the 91 and the 21 with sources.
Almost every English article on this topic cites a 2015 survey by the Japan Tourism Agency (観光庁) of accommodation with baths, and a follow-up guidance note in 2016 suggesting stickers, separate time slots and private baths as accommodations for tattooed foreign visitors. We tried to open the original release on the agency's site on 2026-09-12. The press-release URLs we tested returned 404, which is consistent with the agency's site having been reorganised, and the web archive was not reachable from our tools. We therefore do not quote the survey's percentages as primary fact here.
What we can cite is JNTO's article of 2020-12-08, which says the 2015 study found that about 30 percent of hotels and inns would allow a tattooed guest in their communal baths. That is secondary reporting, it concerns accommodation rather than day-use baths, and it is eleven years old. Several facilities in the table above changed their rule between 2021 and 2025. A survey of that age is background, not a guide to any particular door.
Among the 14 facilities whose written rule we opened on 2026-09-12, the common form is 1 or 2 of the facility's own stickers, each between 8×12 cm and 13×19 cm. The most frequent rule is 2 stickers of 11×20 cm, used by the Manyo Club spas in Toyosu and Machida and by Sayano Yudokoro. So a tattoo that fits inside roughly a postcard, or two postcards side by side, is coverable at most cover-rule facilities; anything larger is not.
Usually not. The rules we read say 当館指定 or 当店指定, the facility's designated sticker, sold at reception for ¥200 to ¥310 each where a price is given. Several pages state that refusing the facility's sticker means refusal of entry. Bring your own only where the facility's page says any cover is acceptable.
We could not open the original 2015 release on the agency's site on 2026-09-12; the URLs we tried returned 404 and the web archive was not reachable from our tools. JNTO's own article of 2020-12-08 cites the study as finding that about 30 percent of hotels and inns would allow a tattooed guest in their communal baths. Treat that as secondary reporting of an 11-year-old survey of accommodation, not as the current state of day-use baths.
Tattoo OK Map lists 10,470 onsen, sento and saunas across Japan and shows each as tattoo-OK, cover-required or unconfirmed. The OK and cover labels come only from the facility's or municipality's own published policy, with the source URL and last check date on the entry, so you can see the sticker rule before you travel rather than at the counter. Five interface languages: English, Japanese, Korean, Simplified and Traditional Chinese.
Tattoo OK Map
Find onsen, sento and saunas in Japan that admit tattoos. Every verified entry has a source URL and a check date
Free with ads; a one-time Pro purchase removes them. No account. The verified list is also on the web at /tattoo-onsen/list.html (Japanese).
All checked on 2026-09-12.